Flying High……

Ok, so I honestly dont get out much. Well, not too far outside of the midwest anyway.

I just had a whirlwind business trip to San Jose, California. Travel Monday, work Tuesday, travel home Wednesday. It was work, it was a little fun, it was exhausting. I don’t hate to fly, I just don’t care for the confinement of the tiny little space the airlines give you for your hours of travel.

Luckily I had a window seat. Obviously, with loving photography as I do, I’m a visual person. Wether in a car, or in a plane, I love to watch the world pass by me. I love to see the land we are blessed to have and how it changes from mile to mile. I’ve flown a few times before, but this time I was blessed with poofy clouds. Maybe I’m strange… ok, so anyone who knows me well, knows I am a little strange, but I’m actually amazed at the beauty and the formations of the clouds, I always am, even when on the ground. I rarely shoot a scene with sky unless I have clouds. Oh I do now and then, I mean I have to sometimes as I haven’t quite figured out how to instantly summons the atmosphere when needed, but I honestly prefer to have clouds if I have sky in photos.

So me being the way I am, if I see beauty, I have to capture it, it’s a necessity in my mind. Unfortunately, G2 (thats my cameras name, um, yes, I named my camera) was up in the overhead and I had 2 sleeping grown men between me & the aisle. I know, I should’ve taken my camera out of my bag BEFORE I sat down, but theres just soooo little space I couldn’t even see making room for G2. So I pulled out my handy dandy Blackberry phone, in airplane mode of course, and started snapping. I hear the Iphones have a pretty nice 5 megapixel camera built in. Its the first time I wished I had an Iphone.

The following pictures are not the best, in fact, they are pretty pixelated but at the same time I hope it proves to some that its not all about having the fanciest camera, its about seeing & capturing the beauty.

I think this one is my personal favorite. We were literally flying on the edge of a storm.

Yes you will see a few shots with a plane wing in it. There were a few times I really couldn’t avoid the wing but I personally kinda like it, what do you think?

To me, the sight of these clouds bathed in sunlight was a surreal type of loveliness. It seems like a puffy, soft, foriegn  terrain when viewed from above. I think, when earthbound, I’ll look up at the clouds and wonder what they look like on the other side.

This is just outside of San Jose, the morning sun had not yet pulled the blanket of clouds completely away, instead the hills clung on to them like a sleepy child.

I’m not even sure where this one was taken, somewhere between San Jose and home.

I felt like a child snapping pictures all the way with my phone. I felt silly even, wondering what others thought. (I admit, I feel that often when snapping pictures.)

But I was happy, and in the end, that was all that really mattered.

10 comments on “Flying High……

  1. Gary says:

    Love your post. Now I know I’m not the only one snapping photos and staring out the window for an entire plane trip. On a recent spring flight to Salt Lake, I noticed that most people where not enthralled with the scenery below them. When did flying 30,000 ft in the air become mundane for people. It’s, also, odd that I have a post about that plane trip in draft form just sitting waiting to be published. You have inspired me to release it soon.

    Keep up the posts.

  2. toemailer says:

    Great shots. There is something about the tops of the clouds that is just magical.

  3. Daddy-o says:

    My brother’s a commercial pilot… he always says he’s got the best office view in the world.

  4. amanda says:

    Wow — these are great! Photography is not a strong talent of mine, so I’m very impressed by others who have the knack for it.

    Thanks for stopping by wrinkled pages yesterday. Glad you enjoyed the post!

  5. M says:

    I think the ones with the wing in them make it look like you’re sittin’ on top of the plane, takin’ pictures. :-)

    (I came over after reading your comment #15 in this post on PW’s blog here
    http://thepioneerwoman.com/photography/2010/08/two-things-to-try/ )

Leave a Reply

